Technology Mentors

Main Content

An initiative to increase faculty adoption and integration of cutting-edge technology is available through Information Technology’s and Center for Teaching Excellence's Technology Mentor Program. The program allows faculty volunteers to undergo training on new technology introduced on campus. These mentors then assist departmental colleagues in integrating technology into their teaching practices.

“The point of the program is to expose our faculty and staff to new technology, find the technology's value and help the faculty see the capabilities that exists in the technology,” says Reza Habib, associate professor and undergraduate program director in the Department of Psychology. Habib was an early mentor program volunteer.

One goal of the program is to increase faculty comfort with and use of new technology to facilitate student engagement. Creating a consistent learning environment across classrooms and enriching the learning experience in each classroom will assist in student retention and success.

Faculty interested in the program may contact Don Barth, Program Coordinator, at 453-1390 or dbarth@siu.edu

Technology Mentors:

Name College Department/School Email
Dan Becque

Education and Human Services

Kinesiology

mdbecque@siu.edu

Sean Boyles

Applied Sciences and Arts

Automotive Technology

jeepster@siu.edu

Lingguo Bu

Education and Human Services

Curriculum and Instruction

lgbu@siu.edu

James Conder

Science

Geology

conder@geo.siu.edu

Christopher Cooley

Engineering

Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes

chris.cooley@siu.edu

Chifeng Dai

 Liberal Arts

 Economics

daic@siu.edu

Niki Davis

Agricultural Sciences

Animal Science, Food and Nutrition

ndavis@siu.edu

John Dobbins

Applied Sciences and Arts

Architecture

jdobbins@siu.edu

Stephen Ebbs

Science

Plant Biology

sebbs@plant.siu.edu

Thomas Fagerholm

Liberal Arts

Theater

tfagerholm@siu.edu

Frances Harackiewicz

Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering

fran1@siu.edu

Christina Heady

Library Affairs

Library Affairs

cheady@lib.siu.edu

Tom Imboden

Applied Sciences and Arts

Information Systems and Applied Technologies

timboden@siu.edu

Jun Kim

Education and Human Services

Health Education and Recreation

jkim@siu.edu

Mary Kinsel

Science

Chemistry and Biochemistry

mkinsel@chem.siu.edu

Prabir Kolay

Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

pkolay@siu.edu

Thara Lowndes

Science

Math

tlowndes@math.siu.edu

Manoj Mohanty

Engineering

Mining

mmohanty@siu.edu

Marcus Odom Business

Accountancy

modom@business.siu.edu

Logan Park

Agricultural Sciences

Forestry

logan.park@siu.edu

Jeffery Punske

Liberal Arts

 Linguistics

punske@siu.edu

Matt Romero

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Aviation Flight and Management

matthewr@siu.edu

Carl Spezia

College of Engineering

Technology

powerguy@siu.edu

Angela Upchurch

 Law

Law

aupchurch@siu.edu

Joshua Vossler

Library Affairs

Library Affairs

jvossler@siu.edu

Audrey Wagner

College of Liberal Arts

Geography

audreyw@siu.edu

Dennis Watson

College of Agricultural Sciences

Plant Soil and Agriculutral Systems

dwatson@siu.edu

Andrew Weis

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Aviation Flight and Management

aweis@siu.edu