Technology Mentors

Main Content

An initiative to increase faculty adoption and integration of cutting-edge technology is available through Information Technologys and Center for Teaching Excellences Technology Mentor Program. The program allows faculty volunteers to undergo training on new technology introduced on campus. These mentors then assist departmental colleagues in integrating technology into their teaching practices.The program recently added 17 new mentors for a total of 36.

The point of the program is to expose our faculty and staff to new technology, find the technologys value and help the faculty see the capabilities that exists in the technology, says Reza Habib, associate professor and undergraduate program director in the Department of Psychology. Habib was an early mentor program volunteer.

The peer-to-peer sharing program, which began in August, gives faculty and staff an increased understanding of unfamiliar technology. Mentors undergo training sessions on programs including D2L (Desire2Learn), Lecture Capture Software, Classroom Response Systems, as well as training on using tools, including the tablets distributed to all incoming freshmen as part of the Mobile Dawg initiative.

One goal of the program is to increase faculty comfort with and use of new technology to facilitate student engagement. Creating a consistent learning environment across classrooms and enriching the learning experience in each classroom will assist in student retention and success.

Faculty interested in the program may contact Casey Rolape, Program Coordinator, at 453-6131 or crolape@siu.edu

Technology Mentors:

Name College Department/School Email
Mavis Adjei

College of Business

Marketing

mtandoh@business.siu.edu

Dan Becque

College of Education and Human Services

Kinesiology

mdbecque@siu.edu

Sean Boyles

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Automotive Technology

jeepster@siu.edu

Justin Boyles

College of Science

Zoology

jgboyles@siu.edu

Lingguo Bu

College of Education and Human Services

Curriculum and Instruction

lgbu@siu.edu

Christopher Clemons

College of Agricultural Sciences

Plant Soil and Agricultural Systems

chrisclemons@siu.edu

James Conder

College of Science

Geology

conder@geo.siu.edu

Christopher Cooley

College of Engineering

Mechanical Engineering and Energy Processes

chris.cooley@siu.edu

Carola Daffner

College of Liberal Arts

Department of Language, Cultures and International Trade

cdaffner@siu.edu

Niki Davis

College of Agricultural Sciences

Animal Science, Food and Nutrition

ndavis@siu.edu

John Dobbins

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Architecture

jdobbins@siu.edu

Stephen Ebbs

College of Science

Plant Biology

sebbs@plant.siu.edu

Thomas Fagerholm

College of Liberal Arts

Theater

tfagerholm@siu.edu

Jordan Forbes

Library

Library

jordan.forbes@lib.siu.edu

Matt Giblin

College of Liberal Arts

Criminology and Criminal Justice

mgiblin@siu.edu

Reza Habib

College of Liberal Arts

Psychology

rhabib@siu.edu

Frances Harackiewicz

College of Engineering

Electrical and Computer Engineering

fran1@siu.edu

Christina Heady

Library

Library

cheady@lib.siu.edu

Tom Imboden

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Information Systems and Applied Technologies

timboden@siu.edu

Sosanya Jones

College of Education and Human Services

Educational Administration and Higher Education

smjones@siu.edu

Jun Kim

College of Education and Human Services

Health Education and Recreation

jkim@siu.edu

Mary Kinsel

College of Science

Chemistry and Biochemistry

mkinsel@chem.siu.edu

Prabir Kolay

College of Engineering

Civil and Environmental Engineering

pkolay@siu.edu

Namdar Mogharreban

College of Science

Computer Science

namdar@cs.siu.edu

Manoj Mohanty

College of Engineering

Mining

mmohanty@siu.edu

Marcus Odom College of Business

Accountancy

modom@business.siu.edu

Logan Park

College of Agricultural Sciences

Forestry

logan.park@siu.edu

Reid Perkins-Buzo

College of Mass Communcation and Media Arts

Radio, Television and Digital Media

rperkinsbuzo@siu.edu

Mark Pertson College of Business

Finance

map1@business.siu.edu

Matt Rendleman

College of Agricultural Sciences

Agribuisness Economics

mattr@siu.edu

Matt Romero

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Department of Aviation Flight and Management

matthewr@siu.edu

Stacey Sloboda

College of Liberal Arts

Art History

sloboda@siu.edu

Carl Spezia

College of Engineering

Technology

powerguy@siu.edu

Audrey Wagner

College of Liberal Arts

Geography

audreyw@siu.edu

Dennis Watson

College of Agricultural Sciences

Plant Soil and Agriculutral Systems

dwatson@siu.edu

Andrew Weis

College of Applied Sciences and Arts

Department of Aviation Flight and Management

aweis@siu.edu